A GROWING OPPORTUNITY

Several governments around the world have set objectives related to organic recovery and repurposing. Their objectives aim to increase recovery of organic matter produced in highly populated multi-residential and commercial buildings and to succeed in eliminating organic waste in landfills by 2022.

In 2012, more than 4.7 million tons of organic waste were produced (agribusiness excluded). Only 1.2 million were recovered, representing a recycling rate of only 25% [1].

Quebec - Organic Waste Recovery - Actual vs Targeted
Laval (2012) - 8%
Montreal (2012) - 12%
Longueuil (2012) - 12%
Quebec Province (2012) - 25%
Montreal (Mont-Royal) (2012) - 39%
Gatineau (2013) - 43%
PQGMR Target (2015) - 60%
PQGMR Target (2022) - 100%

Organic matter is a valuable resource for renewable energy production such as biomethane (natural gas) or compost. To operate and to ensure their profitability, anaerobic digestion plants and composting centers will have a recurrent need for raw materials. It is essential to improve organic waste collection in order to maximize its recovery and meet the 2022 target.

Instead of letting methane out into the atmosphere, biogas resulting from fermentation can be recycled for green energy production. 

The digestate, as well as the compost, very rich in minerals, can be used to enrich arable lands.

Government Programs

Since 2008, the Canadian and provincial governments have provided $650 million to finance infrastructure construction costs to repurpose organic matter through anaerobic digestion or composting in the residential sector. [2].

Several waste recovery projects are operational. For example, Toronto has two active biogas plants. Vancouver’s goal is to be acknowledged as the greenest city in the world by 2020 and it already has the infrastructure to repurpose organic matter. New York also has appropriate infrastructures and uses a three-way collection (the brown bin system) to collect organic matter. In order to meet these needs, Solucycle provides the most convenient solution to make organic matter easy to sort and collect in large urban centers for recovery and green energy production.

Un besoin à combler

Plusieurs gouvernements à travers le monde se sont fixés des objectifs liés à la récupération et à la valorisation des matières organiques. Leur objectif est d’augmenter la récupération de cette matière produite dans les immeubles multi-résidentiels et commerciaux à forte densification et de parvenir à éliminer l’enfouissement des déchets organiques d’ici 2022.

En 2012, c’est plus de 4,7 millions de tonnes de matières organiques (résidus agroalimentaires exclus), qui ont été générées au Québec. Sur celles-ci, environ 1,2 millions ont été recyclées, soit un taux de recyclage d’environ 25% seulement [1].

Au Québec: Matières putrescibles récupérées, Actuelles vs Ciblées
Laval (2012) - 8%
Montréal (2012) - 12%
Longueuil (2012) - 12%
Province de Québec (2012) - 25%
Montréal (Mont-Royal) (2012) - 39%
Gatineau (2013) - 43%
Objectif PQGMR (2015) - 60%
Objectif PQGMR (2022) - 100%

Les matières organiques représentent une ressource précieuse pour produire de l’énergie renouvelable comme le biométhane (gaz naturel) ou le composte. Pour fonctionner et assurer leur rentabilité, les usines de biométhanisation et les centres de compostage auront un besoin récurrent de matière première. Il est essentiel d’améliorer la récupération des déchets organiques, pour en maximiser leur valorisation et atteindre les objectifs de 2022.

energie-verte2Au lieu de laisser le méthane s’échapper dans l’atmosphère, le biogaz issu de la fermentation peut être recyclé à des fins de production d’énergies vertes.

Step6

Le digestat de la biométhanisation, très riche en minéraux, ainsi que le composte produit peuvent servir à enrichir les terres cultivables.

Programmes gouvernementaux

Depuis 2008, les gouvernements provinciaux et du Canada ont prévu 650 millions de dollars afin de financer des coûts de construction d’infrastructures de valorisation des matières organiques par biométhanisation ou par compostage, pour le secteur résidentiel [2].

Plusieurs projets de valorisation des déchets sont opérationnels. Par exemple, Toronto a deux usines de biométhanisation en service. Vancouver s’est fixé l’objectif d’être reconnue comme étant la ville la plus verte au monde d’ici 2020, et possède déjà des infrastructures pour valoriser la matière organique. La ville de New York possède également les infrastructures nécessaires et utilise la collecte par la troisième voie (Bac brun) pour collecter les matières organiques. Enfin, pour répondre à ces besoins, Solucycle apporte la solution tout indiquée, facilitant la collecte des matières organiques destinées à être valorisées dans les grands centres urbains.